HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC (January 30, 2019) – Ten outstanding Beaufort County seniors were named Heritage Classic Foundation Scholars at a luncheon on Wednesday at the Sonesta Resort. The students come from five different high schools.  

During Wednesday’s awards presentation, Scott Richardson told the audience, “This is always an exciting day for the Heritage Classic Foundation.  Choosing the 10 students to receive these awards was a hard task.  We believe the records of these young adults are better than ever.  The teachers and administrators of our school systems, as well as the award winners deserve special praise.”  

Six of the newly named Scholars will receive a $16,000 scholarship over the next four years.  Four additional awards carry a $20,000 opportunity.  Two of the latter scholarships honor the past Scholar Committee chairmen, John Zimmerman and the late Mike Malanick. One honors the late Scholar Committee member Charlie Brown and the Tartan Club Award recognizes the donations made by the Tartan Club. Created by the Heritage Classic Foundation, the Tartan Club is a group created by the individuals who share a desire to help others through the creation of scholarships for area students.

Next fall, 35 Beaufort County collegians will be receiving Foundation grants at an expenditure of $160,000.  A grand total of $4,284,350 will have been awarded to 332 students after the 2019 distribution.  

Richardson pointed out at Wednesday’s luncheon, sponsored by Palmetto Electric Cooperative, “These scholars are not just straight A students.  They are leaders in their schools, communities and churches.  They have interests that vary from government to sports to helping animals in need.”  

In addition to these ten scholarships, the Foundation is funding four $2,500 annual scholarships to the University of South Carolina Beaufort and two $1,500 annual scholarships to the Technical College of the Low Country.  

The following graduating seniors were selected:  

Battery Creek High School – Gabriella Morales
Beaufort High – Samuel Stewart
Bluffton High School – Elaine Guo, Caleb Kelly, Caleb Watkins
Hilton Head Island High School – Elizabeth Jordan, Justin Mlodzinski, Zachary Waters
May River High School – Faith Shupard, Joshua Yeddulayyagari        

About Heritage Classic Foundation: The Heritage Classic Foundation is a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving lives throughout the state of South Carolina. As the general sponsor of the PGA TOUR’s RBC Heritage Presented by Boeing, millions of dollars generated from ticket sales and sponsorships are distributed to charitable organizations that enhance the quality of life for our citizens. Since it was founded as a 501 (c)(3) in 1987, the Foundation has donated $41 million to people in need.  For more information, call (843) 671-2448, visit www.heritageclassicfoundation.com or Facebook (Heritage Classic Foundation) and Twitter (@HCFGolf).


ELAINE GUO – is an advocate for soggy cereal and practices Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. She also plays the piano and volunteers with the Palmetto Animal League. She has participated in the Science Olympiad and Youth In Government since she was a freshman at Bluffton High. She also founded the Gender and Sexuality Alliance at her school – a club focused on the support, education and advocacy of LGBT teens and allies. When she is not volunteering at the Bluffton Library she works at Auntie Anne’s Pretzels.  

ELIZABETH JORDAN (ZIMMERMAN AWARD) – as student body president at Hilton Head Island High, one of Elizabeth’s main drives is to represent minority groups in a positive light. As President of the Interact Club she has helped increase the minority participation by more than 10%. As an IB Diploma Program candidate, she maintains a balance between hobbies and academic rigor. Some of those hobbies include Beta Club, Zonta Club, and the Math National Honor Society. She is also a Sunday school teacher in her church.  

CALEB KELLY (BROWN AWARD) has a passion for archaeology. He volunteers with the Sea Pines Archaeological Research Team and is a docent during Hilton Head History Days. He is also a member of the Archaeological Society of South Carolina and a founding member of the Environmental Club at Bluffton High. It’s mission is to better the campus and community through healthy and exciting initiatives.  

JUSTIN MLODZINSKI – is a valued member of the Hilton Head Island High baseball team and earned the distinction of Most Valuable Player. He tutors fellow students in Spanish and Math and was a member of the Chess Club. He coaches basketball at the Island Recreation Center and participates in Seahawk baseball camps aimed at 6 to 12 year old children. He is also working on a non-profit organization that will provide athletic equipment to impoverished children in Honduras.  

GABRIELLA MORALES – is the Battery Creek High’s student body vice president and is the captain of the varsity soccer team. She is also active in the Future Business Leaders of America and the Health Occupations Students of America Club. She has volunteered with the Beaufort Water Festival as a Pirette and assists with meal packaging for Operation Christmas Child.  As a third generation Mexican-American she has worked to improve her Spanish through her involvement in the Spanish National Honor Society.  

FAITH SHUPARD – as a student ambassador, Faith works to keep May River High’s student body engaged in school and community activities. She is a charter member of the Key Club where they organize “Socktober” – a fundraiser to donate socks to homeless shelters. Her volunteer efforts do not stop there, she also spends time helping the Palmetto Animal League, Palmetto Pride and the Neighborhood Outreach Connection. She is passionate about animals and the environment.  

SAMUEL STEWART – has played varsity baseball since he was a 7th grader and was named Academic Player of the Year at Beaufort High for being the player with the highest GPA. He volunteered in the annual Beaufort Ghost Tours to benefit the Child Abuse Prevention Association and Friends of the Library Book Sale. He is active in his church and attended Palmetto Boys State last summer – “a laboratory of government” that promotes competition and leadership.  

ZACHARY WATERS (MALANICK AWARD) – is president of Hilton Head Island High’s Young Republican Club and is a Student Spirit Leader. He also co-founded “Students For A Better Tomorrow” – a club that strives to create a school culture of unity and family. He is a three time track team state champion. He is active in his church and the Boys and Girls Club. He volunteers to teach the elderly how to use their technological devices and spends RBC Heritage week as a drink runner for the on course concession stands.  

CALEB WATKINS  (TARTAN CLUB AWARD) explores his interest in government by participating in Youth in Government, competing in the National Judicial Competition and as vice president of the Model UN.  He is on Bluffton’s High varsity lacrosse and track teams and is a Junior Marshal charged with helping to plan graduation. He traveled the Midwest last summer completing service projects with the YMCA sponsored Y-Corps. He is active in his church and is a Salvation Army volunteer.  

JOSHUA YEDDULAYYAGARI – is a leader on May River High’s baseball team and  belongs to service organizations that work in the school and community - the Key Club, National Beta Club and National Honors Society. As a member of the Beta Club, he helped organize a fundraiser for pediatric cancer research after the passing of a classmate. As a senior, he is an Operation Smile Leader and a member of Youth in Government.